Overall Rating ⇒ 4.86 (out of 5.00)
from a total of 113 testimonials since 2017



A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2018-04-22 | ★★★☆☆
Class was too memorization focused at times. Modules are easy to study from on your own time. Study in advance or you will FAIL the quiz, especially when he starts using Respondus for it next year. In general, it prepares you well for future studies in biochemistry, although it might be the bane of your existence if you have a heavy course load. Dr. Farooq may be a bit abrupt, but don't mistake his passion with rudeness.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2018-04-12 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq's class was a great learning experience. By taking his class, I learned that no matter how much a class seems like pure memorization, logic can help you get through the various questions his test pose. His class provided me with a strong backbone in the field of Biochemistry and his in-depth power-points and smooth and liquid lectures allowed me to excel in the course. The course and the material provided also assisted me in my preparations for the MCAT by providing for me a solid foundation to work on. One of the best aspects of having him as a professor is the time and effort he puts forth for his students and by doing so he ensures that we, his students, feel prioritized. Although many feel he is harsh and rude with his comments at times, it should be taken as constructive criticism because all he wants is for his students to succeed. Ignore all that you have heard about him from others when you walk into his class and keep in mind he is not like all professors but if you treat him with respects he will treat you with the respect you deserve. He is very passionate about what he teaches and his class is a great experience overall.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2018-04-06 | ★★★★★
I really enjoyed learning biochemistry in Professor Farooq's class. Professor Farooq provides in-depth and extremely organized power point slides that directly correlate to the material that he puts on the exam. The rigor of Professor Farooq's class exposed me to complexities and intricacies of biochemistry. Professor Farooq is very knowleadgable and well receptive to questions. I had a great experience and highly recommend his class.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-04-04 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is definitely a challenging subject because it covers a wide range of topics and also dives deeply into each of them. Dr. Farooq does a great job of delivering this information to students in pieces, which makes it much easier to understand. Everything about this class is straightforward, so there is no confusion about what you need to know for the exams. I have been in other classes where I don't know what information I need to study, but that is definitely not the case here. Also, there are quizzes after every class which help a lot because they force you to study the information while you're being taught it, as opposed to waiting until the last minute. Professor Farooq helped me a lot because, if I ever had questions, he could break the information down into very simple terms that made it easier to understand. If you are willing to put in the work, BMB 401 with Dr. Farooq will be a valuable learning experience.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2018-04-03 | ★★★★★
Although Biochemistry is not an easy subject, Professor Farooq made the material easy to engage in an extremely effective and comprehensive manner via the online lecture slides. Many of my peers struggled in the class because they were more focused on frantically writing down every detail instead of just sitting back and trying to understand the material as Professor Farooq explained it in class. By attending each lecture, sitting close to the front, and absorbing the content of this class as it is presented logically, you too will succeed in this challenging class.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-03-30 | ★★★★★
This class is a very challenging course that will push you to your limits and that's exactly what this course should be. Farooq explains exactly what will be on the test which is a lot and yet they are fair. He won't add something into it that he doesn't have in the slideshows. The textbook is a great buy in terms of additional information on the topic but it isn't required as again the info on the slides is the test. Overall, this class is one I'll always remember for it challenging yet interesting topics.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-03-27 | ★★★★★
While this class is extremely difficult, Professor Farooq works very hard to ensure that you will have all the tools necessary to succeed. He is always willing to answer questions to clarify things you don't understand. His slides are very well done and by studying them you will be able to do well in the class. An important thing to appreciate is that you need to truly understand the material rather than just memorize, this will make the tests much easier to do well on


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-03-27 | ★★★★★
While this course was a VERY difficult, Dr. Farooq provided everything necessary to succeed in the class. His material was straightforward and taught everything in a very consistent manner. He was more than fair in his grading policies and the exam retake helped my grade so much. I was very surprised at how well I did in this class, because of the powerpoints and straightfowardness of the course and how Dr. Farooq structured it.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-03-23 | ★☆☆☆☆
Based on the reviews, I see here, this was a very disappointing class. I came in with high expectations, which were met with endless memorization. While Dr. Farooq does say it is logic, it is only 10% logic and 90% memorization. Dr. Farooq can also be unapproachable and rude at times. It is better to show up to class and not listen, because reading the powerpoints is a much faster method of memorization then listening to the lectures.


A+ Student | FALL 2016 | 2018-03-15 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq's biochemistry course was an enjoyable experience overall. Biochemistry is a challenging topic to master but the presentation of materials and organization of the course made it much more doable. Dr. Farooq has a passion for biochemistry which can be seen in the way he conducts the lectures. Dr. Farooq presents the material in a way so that you really understand the major concepts rather than just memorizing them. The practice tests he gives before the exam are very similar to the actual exam and allows you to assess what you understand. Dr. Farooq is also kind enough to post his lectures online so that you may refer back to them when needed. The lectures are structured in a way that you build on what you learned in the lecture before. Dr. Farooq also understands that biochemistry may be a tough subject to master so provides many chances for you to do your best such as by allowing you to retake an exam. He is also always available to answer questions either by phone or in person before and after class. Overall, this biochemistry course was a very rewarding experience.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-02-27 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is a rigorous course and requires you to put in hours of work. Luckily, Professor Farooq makes the content for the course readily available in his powerpoints. KNOW everything on those slides ! Do not take it lightly, there are questions that ask you to the finest detail. Professor Farooq's lectures are fast paced and sometimes he may not see you if you raise your hand to ask a question so make sure to speak up and address him professionally. Study the notes before going to class and use his lecture as a review for the daily quiz. This class will help you prepare for the biochemistry portion of the MCAT.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-02-26 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is a very challenging course that requires dedication to successfully understand the concepts. Although challenging, Dr. Farooq makes the class very doable and teaches it in a way that helps you to understand the material instead of just memorizing it. This class was very enjoyable and I have begun to realize how much this class and Dr. Farooq really taught me since I have been studying for the MCAT. The lectures are very straightforward and the professor gives you many opportunities to do well in the class as long as you put in your best effort. Dr. Farooq was also always available whenever I needed to reach him for questions.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-02-19 | ★★★★★
Although this course was challenging, Professor Farooq organized it in very concise and clear manner. With quizzes every class, it is very important to stay on top of the material, and although the amount of studying necessary may seem daunting at times, I learned so much from taking this course and Professor Farooq was very good at explaining difficult concepts. If you work hard to grasp the material, it will pay off and reflect in your test scores. I am taking the MCAT in April and this class has helped immensely in my studying and understanding of the Bio/Biochem section.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-02-15 | ★★★★★
This course, although challenging, is very interesting and engaging. The topics covered in class are applicable to everyday life and science. This class does require a great deal of time and effort to successfully master and understand the concepts, but it is fair and doable if you are willing to work hard. Professor Farooq does a wonderful job of presenting the material in a well organized, easy to grasp way to maximize the success of his students. He is easy to reach if you have questions or need help.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-02-09 | ★★★★★
I was super fascinated by this class even though biochemistry had never interested me in the past. I feel as if I've learned the most in this class about biology than I have ever learned in all my years of taking biology courses. Dr. Farooq's slides have exactly the information that you need to know and that is important. He is always willing to answer questions and explain material. Although the quizzes are very difficult at first, they keep you up-to-date and prepared, which I definitely benefited from. The practice exams are also very helpful. If you put in the time to learn, you will surely gain a lot of knowledge and use from this class!


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2018-02-06 | ★★★★★
This class was very different from my previous science classes at UM. Professor Farooq was straight forward, detailed, and let you know exactly how things were going to go for the entirety of the semester. Honestly, I liked that. I knew what I was getting into and what was expected of me as a student without any surprises. The material was challenging because of the volume of information, but it forced me to pay attention to detail and synthesize it holistically. I used Quizlet religiously for this class, and I've been using it to study in all of my classes ever since. BMB401 forced me to fine tune my study skills, and I've been able to find the best method that works for me now.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-02-04 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq’s lessons to me went beyond the subject material. He taught me, directly and indirectly, how to be a better person and future professional. My advice to him is that kindness can go a long way when guiding others. Regardless of his stern demeanor, however, he is a good man. And if you observe him, you will notice that he has a good heart. May God bless him and all the lives he touches.


A- Student | SPRING 2016 | 2018-01-31 | ★★★★★
While the subject material for BMB 401 was challenging, the course structure and grading system were very fair. Biochemistry is undeniably highly dense in content, so the time and effort you put into studying the material reflects in your grade. Like most other science courses, attending class and consistently reviewing the powerpoint slides is critical to succeeding in this course. I recommend future students to be inquisitive and proactive by looking over lectures in detail before class lecture. I feel that it is highly effective for solidifying a strong foundation in biochemistry, which is key for pre-med students preparing for the MCAT. I even found myself utilizing Dr. Farooq’s notes (which are straightforward and concise) to supplement my MCAT prep. In terms of lecture presentation, Dr. Farooq taught the information in an organized and succinct manner, which helped ease comprehension of the material. Throughout his teaching of the course, it’s clear to see how passionate he is about the subject and how genuine he is regarding students’ learning.


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2018-01-29 | ★★★★★
BMB 401 with Dr. Farooq was one of the most complete and well done courses I have taken at UM. Dr. Farooq has compiled crucial information that will give any student a strong base going into Biochemistry. The course builds on itself, continually expanding a student's knowledge without giving too much advanced material at once. Dr. Farroq does a good job explaining anything that may be a source of confusion and will always stay after to explain material to students. Overall, this course has influenced me to become a biochem major and I would highly recommend.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-21 | ★★★★★
I'm not a biochem major but this class made me wish I was. Dr. Farooq's lectures are amazing-he thoroughly explains concepts and teaches you how to apply logic so you won't even have to memorize all of the material. That being said, make sure you know EVERYTHING on the ppts for an A. Tests are straightforward and questions come right from the ppts; no surprises. I always rebooted my laptop before exams and had no problems. Practice tests are representative of the exam and I highly recommend taking them. If you're premed, don't just memorize for the exam and forget it later; you will need to know it for the MCAT and medical school. His notes are very useful for MCAT prep. Dr. Farooq's straightforward nature is often confused for rudeness-he truly cares about his students and prepares them well. His office hours are on the med campus, but I always asked him questions before/after class. Know everything on the ppt before class and you will do well on the quizzes. The quizzes helped me stay on track so I felt confident about exams well before the exam date instead of stressing the night before. He is more than fair as he provides opportunities to boost your grade like dropping the lowest quizzes and 1 exam retake instead of a final.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2018-01-20 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq is a great professor. He helps you learn and understand the material and not memorize it to pass the class. He is always willing to answer questions at any time; even though his office is at the UM Medical Campus he makes sure that you have time to ask questions before and after class and you can even call him and he'll respond as soon as he cans. Biochemistry is not an easy subject but Dr. Farooq definitely makes it easier, doable and enjoyable. His lectures are comprehensive, organized,clear and straightforward so you know what to expect for the test. He gives practice test which are really helpful and resemble the actual test. The course requires dedication but he definitely gives you plenty of opportunities to do well in the class and to be familiar with the topics covered. While studying for the MCAT I noticed how much I learned from this class and it's thanks to Dr. Farooq.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-17 | ★★★★☆
Professor Farooq is an excellent professor in that he is able to connect material in a manner that it builds on itself and makes sense. However, the student has to put in effort themselves or else they will be lost in terms of following the lectures. The material is dense and Professor Farooq teaches in a manner that makes it much easier to digest.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-16 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is not an easy subject but Farooq definitely made it manageable. He was very generous in allowing us to drop the 5 lowest quiz grades and allowing us to retake an exam at the end of the semester. Reading and understanding the PowerPoints before class is extremely important in succeeding. The quizzes and the exams are fair, everything you will encounter on them can be found on the PowerPoints Farooq provides. This class can be fun as long as you put your time and dedication.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-16 | ★★★★☆
A challenging class, but Dr. Farooq was enthusiastic about the subject and was willing to help learn. The tests were fair based of the material learned in class, but must be studied. The quizzes in class helped to reinforce the material learned during the day.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-15 | ★★★★★
This course covers some difficult concepts, but Dr. Farooq's thorough organization of the topics really emphasizes the connection between them, helping to develop a deeper understanding of the material. He is also very generous in allowing students to retake an exam at the end of the semester, as well as dropping their 5 lowest quiz grades. Overall, if you are willing to put in the work, it is very easy to succeed in this course.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-12 | ★★★★★
This class was a great experience to say the least. The material over the course of the semester covers all the main topics of biochemistry. As a pre-medical student taking the MCAT in May 2018, I feel much more comfortable studying the biochemistry topics which will be on the exam. Professor Farooq's notes are organized in an easy-to-read manner. The notes are so detailed that a textbook is not even necessary to master the material. Professor Farooq presents all the important details. This course requires a lot of hard work and dedication, but it really pays off in the end. I am very grateful and appreciative of Professor Farooq's dedication to not only the subject of biochemistry, but also his students. The way he set up the structure of this course is unique and effective. Having a practice test before the exam helps guide studying and shows what topics are needed for review. Overall, this course is one I will remember and reflect on through all my future years of study.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-11 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry can be a difficult subject, especially with the breadth of material covered in a single semester. However, having a professor as upfront and clear with expectations like Professor Farooq makes the experience much easier! His lecture material/slides are very concise and fully comprehensive of what to expect on the exams. The grading system is fair and students have multiple opportunities to get the grade that they work for, and few professors offer a practice test as helpful and accurate to the upcoming exam like Prof. Farooq does. As a fellow premed student, I am sure that you will be very thankful for this course while studying for the MCAT - I even found myself reviewing from previous lecture slides in place of purchased MCAT materials as I was already familiar with them.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-10 | ★★★★★
BMB 401 is a difficult class, but with Professor Farooq's dedication to helping students learn the material it is a rewarding experience. His powerpoints are clear, concise, and contain all the material you need. His lectures are energetic and extremely informative. The practice exams he conducts and reviews in class are a lifesaver when it comes to studying for the exam, as he explains not only why an answer is correct but takes the time to go through and explain why the others are wrong so that students can learn from their mistakes before the exam. All in all BMB 401 is a difficult course, but with Professor Farooq it is a both fair and enjoyable.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-10 | ★★★★★
I was pretty apprehensive about this course after hearing about it from previous students, but I went into it knowing I was going to have to put in a lot of work. Dr. Farooq is a very fair professor, allowing you to retake an exam at the end of the semester to better your grade if needed. The quizzes every class seemed intimidating at first, but they kept me focused and on track so I wouldn't fall behind in studying. The practice exam he gives is very representative of the actual exam, so it is helpful to use as a study aid. If you stay on top of the material and prepare before class, this class is extremely fair and rewarding. It has also helped me prepare for the MCAT.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-10 | ★★★★★
BMB 401 with Dr. Farooq was both challenging and rewarding. He provides enthusiastic lectures and thorough slides. Students can tell that Dr. Farooq is very invested in the subject as well as their success in the course. The quizzes administered at the end of each lecture compel students to actively study the material rather than cramming before each exam. Overall, I personally had a very enjoyable experience in this course and would recommend this course to my peers.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-08 | ★★★★★
BMB401 is known to be one of the most challenging science courses at UM, but Professor Farooq wants all of his students to succeed. His powerpoints are extremely detailed and have everything you need to know for the exams and even for the MCAT. This course is really informative and you will learn a lot of material. The powerpoints will become your best friend. This isn't a class where you can just skim the slides and expect to do well; you need to put in the effort to really understand all of the minuscule details in order to succeed. Although the quizzes each class may be a little tedious, they are really helpful in the fact that they reinforce important and small details that you will need to remember. If you come to class ready to take good notes and pay a lot of attention, you will do well. This isn't a class you can slack off on! And while it is a difficult class, I really enjoyed my time and having Professor Farooq as my instructor.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-06 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq is one of the most helpful and energetic professors I have ever met at University of Miami. His passion for biochemistry is so strong that it radiates off of him throughout an entire lecture. This passion along with Dr. Farooq's multiple resources (his anytime phone calls, review sessions, and practice tests, and end of lecture quizzes) are more than enough to lead one to success in this course. For those of you who are incoming students, the best advice I could give you is to make sure you review every lecture before coming to class to get the most out of Dr. Farooq's lectures and to maximize your scores on the quizzes. Also, do not procrastinate in studying for the exams as they are very challenging but fair. Give yourself at LEAST 3 days of solid studying and review to ensure your success! Good Luck!


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-05 | ★★★★★
BMB401 is a challenging course, but Professor Farooq gives all the tools necessary to succeed. Understanding his powerpoint slides in detail is key and will definitely help with future class content. If you take the time to really absorb and connect the information he teaches, you will learn a lot. For premed students, this class is crucial for the MCAT and medical school so give it your full and undivided attention! For those who are not premed, the course content is valuable to understanding life functions at a deeper level. In order to do well in Dr. Farooq's class, make sure to come prepared to class, having already reviewed the powerpoint slides. Take notes during class and ask questions. If you understand the basic concepts, you should do well on the quizzes. Make sure to review in full detail for the exams, attend the review sessions, and take the practice tests!


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-05 | ★★★★★
As a student on the pre-medical track, Biochemistry has been a class known to be difficult and daunting. Upon first glance at the syllabus, I knew the course held challenges ahead for me , but what I didn't know, was how fun and intellectually stimulating these challenges would prove to be! I can whole-heartedly say that Professor Farooq is passionate about his material and truly cares for his students. His in-class quizzes reinforces his rhetoric of studying everyday, making exams a more approachable task. Taking a biophysical approach, this course has made molecular and metabolic sense of my biological, chemical and physical undergraduate knowledge. His dedication to student learning is exemplified by his quick in-class responses and promise to always return calls! During the hurricane season, I was a victim of auto-theft and the culprits threw my book bag out of the window. A good samaritan found Professor Farooq's number written in my notebook and to my surprise he answered! When I retrieved my things I answered his call to which he also gave me great advice about security. Professor Farooq is clearly not only a great instructor in that he relays his material is legible and concise slides, but also in that he looks after his student's well being. I would highly recommend taking this course, especially if you are "science-philia". After completing the course I feel enriched in my ability to explain the behavior and fates of carbohydrates, lipids, amino acids, and nucleic acids in metabolic energy pathways and gene regulation to maintain homeostasis. Study hard, be inquisitive and I promise that this course will feel fair and fulfilling.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-02 | ★★★★☆
Biochemistry is a difficult class and requires a lot of studying if you want to do well, but Professor Farooq really emphasizes understanding the material rather than memorizing it. I think being guided in approaching the class this way helps a lot in the long run. Professor Farooq also makes himself available to talk to students through several different platforms, which is highly appreciated.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-01 | ★★★★☆
Dr. Farooq is definitely different than any other professor you will have at the University of Miami. He is extremely passionate about biochemistry and genuinely wants you to know, and most importantly UNDERSTAND the information. This class will definitely challenge you, but Dr. Farooq gives you every single resource you need to be successful. His slides are detailed, and he is always just a phone call away whenever you have questions!


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2018-01-01 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq is an excellent teacher who is always willing to address concerns. His slides are very well organized which helps with understanding the complex topics within the course. You have to study a lot to get the A but it is definitely achievable. Always attend class to ask questions and take the quizzes. They keep you on track for the exams. Overall, one of the best courses I have taken at UM.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-29 | ★★★★★
This class really challenged me in two separate ways. The first challenge was the amount of material that had to be navigated and scrutinized. Countless hours were spent learning all the material. The second challenge was the rapid pace of the class. It truly felt like a medical course but also a little less complex. Although the daily quizzes were overwhelming, they also allowed me to keep up to date and avoid procrastination.The questions were straight forward from the slides for the most part. Overall, I had a very solid experience with the class.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-27 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry with Dr. Farooq is a challenging but greatly rewarding course. The structure of the course is very organized and easy to understand. Dr. Farooq efficiently and thoroughly presents course material and ensures that students completely comprehend it. This class requires a lot of time outside of class preparing for quizzes and exams but if you put in the time and dedication, an A in the class is very attainable.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-27 | ★★★★★
The many rumors surrounding BMB401 (it is impossible to get an A) is not true. Hard work and dedication to the class will allow you to achieve the grade that you want, along with Dr. Farooq’s presentation of the course material. It is clear, concise, and structured in a logical manner. The material learned in this class is very valuable to those in Pre-Med, as it will show up on the MCAT.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-26 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq makes biochemistry, an otherwise challenging subject, easy to learn. He presents all of the information in a succinct and organized way that allows students to effectively understand and learn biochemistry. From his lectures, it is clear just how passionate Professor Farooq is about the subject matter and how much he wants his students to learn. The structure of the class encourages active learning and good study habits that are helpful both inside and outside of this class. Professor Farooq’s class was very fair and straightforward and the information I learned in his class has helped me prepare for the MCAT.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-26 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry (BMB 401) with Dr. Farooq is at times a demanding course, but its structure allows for great success should a student put in the effort. The online notes are very detailed, which take away the stress of taking extra notes during class. The notes have everything that Dr. Farooq would ask on a quiz or exam and are available online at any time. There are quizzes every lecture class based on the material covered that day, but one just has to read over the lecture notes beforehand and pay attention during lecture to perform well. These quizzes also keep a student up-to-date which is imperative to doing well in the overall course; there are even a few available drops which account for the odd sick-day. Exams are straight-forward. There is a very fair schedule for make-ups and there is even a retake in case a test does not go as planned. Overall, Biochemistry was a very positive experience. It is easy to see the great care put forth by Dr. Farooq. I have retained much of what I have learned, and I would recommend this course for anyone interested in the material.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-23 | ★★★★★
This class is invaluable for anyone who plans to go into the medical field. It is a demanding course; you need to be willing to put in a significant amount of time and effort to succeed. However, Dr. Farooq takes care to organize and structure the class so that the workload is not overwhelming. The information is streamlined and methodically presented, which makes the challenging curriculum easier to follow. Dr. Farooq’s exams were fair and he really does provide all of the necessary tools to succeed. I am leaving the course with an in-depth knowledge of biochemistry that will serve me in dental school. Pay attention to the diagrams and illustrations that Dr. Farooq includes in the slides. They really helped me to visualize the information, understand the topic, and recall it for exams. I would also recommend attending the workshop sessions and practice exams. In particular, listening to Dr. Farooq review each practice exam was tremendously helpful. If you have questions throughout the semester, ask for clarification. I often went to Dr. Farooq after class if I did not understand why I missed points on a quiz, and I appreciated that he was always available to address my questions. He truly is the best resource, and he is always willing to provide help when needed.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-23 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is a difficult course. However, Professor Farooq makes it as easy as possible. The material is straight forward. The tests are ever more straight forward. If you take the time to study, you will do well. I walked away with a large amount of knowledge in biochemistry and believe it will greatly help me in the future.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-23 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq was honestly one of the best professors I have had at UM. The way the class was structured really pushed me to master the material and make something intimidating much more feasible. Professor Farooq’s engaging lectures and his genuine passion for Biochemistry paired with notes that are nothing short of a masterpiece, makes this class a great conclusion to the premed curriculum. Keep up with the material, spend time actually understanding the concepts, always keep the bigger picture in mind, and utilize your resources; your efforts will surely pay off in the end. 10/10 highly recommend to all my friends!


B Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-22 | ★★★★★
Even though it was difficult at first for me to become acclimated to his exams and I did not receive an A, Dr. Farooq's BMB 401 class is probably the most important science class that I have had to take at the University of Miami and probably the one that has best prepared me for my future. The applications of this class go well past just getting the grade, but rather Dr. Farooq applies the material to things that his students wish to accomplish in the future as well as uses a technique which implores his students to not only memorize the material, but be able to use and apply it as will be necessary in the future when I enter the "real world." Thank you Dr. Farooq.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-20 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is a challenging course of itself but Dr.Farooq try to make it as easy as possible through his organized slides and logic ways of thinking. He does an exceptional job of explaining the materials and is always willing to help his student. Dr.Farooq is very passionate about the subject and want his students to be successful not just in his class but in others as well. The course demanded a lot of my time but it was fair and challenged me to think beyond scope of the class.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-20 | ★★★★★
Overall the class was well structured and Professor Farooq does a great job motivating his students to learn the material.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-20 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq was a very fair professor, he gives you everything you need in order to succeed. It is a hard course that requires a lot of time, however it is manageable and his grading is very fair. He encourages you to prepare for the lecture material before the corresponding lecture, a good skill to master before medical/graduate school. The material he teaches us is also much more comprehensive than what is tested on the MCAT, leaving you very prepared for the exam if you do need to take it.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-19 | ★★★★★
This course was one of the most intense and worthwhile courses I have ever taken. I feel prepared and ready for the Biochemistry section on the MCAT from the level of detail that Dr. Farooq demanded in understanding. However, this high standard was not unwarranted: Dr. Farooq explained the material tremendously well. Attending lectures, workshops, and practice test sessions is critical to being able to truly understand and not memorize the material. The material itself was extremely interesting and made me actually love studying and learning the information. This course is a very exciting, fast paced and enjoyable experience. Buckle up for the ride!


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-19 | ★★★★☆
This class may seem overwhelming at first, but do not be afraid. Professor Farooq is very passionate about the subject and does genuinely want to see his students succeed and will provide them with every opportunity to improve. It is up to you though to take those opportunities. As long as you study the lectures before class, attend the lectures, and plan out your studying before exams, you are sure to succeed!


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-19 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry with Dr. Farooq might seem like a very overwhelming course at first, but please do not be discouraged after the first few lectures. Dr. Farooq presents the material in a very effective manner. If you put in the work, Dr. Farooq gives you the tools to succeed in his class. Although the daily quizzes may appear to be a burden at the beginning of the semester, they force you to actively learn the material and are helpful in the long run. Dr. Farooq is very enthusiastic about Biochemistry and makes it seem like he really wants his students to learn Biochemistry and to be as excited as he is about the material.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-19 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry with Dr. Farooq might seem like a very overwhelming course at first, but please do not be discouraged after the first few lectures. Dr. Farooq presents the material in a very effective manner. If you put in the work, Dr. Farooq gives you the tools to succeed in his class. Although the daily quizzes may appear to be a burden at the beginning of the semester, they force you to actively learn the material and are helpful in the long run. Dr. Farooq is very enthusiastic about Biochemistry and makes it seem like he really wants his students to learn Biochemistry and to be as excited as he is about the material.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
Farooq was an fair teacher who provided all the necessary means to succeed. Everything was straight forward and provided to you. He was available at all times to ask questions. His grading was very fair and having a make up test was one of the best parts of the class grading system. I have learned a lot from this class and it has prepared me for the MCAT well.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq provides everything you need to know in the most organized way possible. The lectures and exam materials are separated into concise modules consisting of only the most important information needed to excel in the class so it does not distract you with extra information that may not appear on the exams. I have learned that his teaching method is the most efficient way of learning and I hope to see more of this type of teaching in other classes as well.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq is the most organized and straight forward professor that I have ever taken. He single-handedly created an outstanding curriculum, and sticks to the syllabus to a T. After the first class meeting, you know exactly what to expect from the course. Regarding his teaching ability, Professor Farooq does an exceptional job of explaining the difficult material presented in his class. Although there is a lot of memorization that goes along with Biochemistry, he does a good job of emphasizing the importance of understanding the material. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience in BMB 401, and I appreciate the fact that my hard work was rewarded.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
Everyone come into this class with the perception that it is going to be a dreadful experience and you're almost destined to fail , but this is nowhere near the truth. This class is most definitely challenging but extremely rewarding. I've never learned so much and been so excited to actually be rewarded for the hard work. Professor Farooq has a passion that few others can compare to which makes the whole class so much more enjoyable. He is also extremely approachable and always willing to help you! Personally, I took this class after having a really difficult time with Orgo 2 and was really discouraged but I ended up excelling in this class because of how fair and structured it was. Put in effort, study the notes and ask questions and you will succeed!


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
While a challenging course due to the nature of Biochemistry, Dr. Farooq presents the material with clarity and precision both from his lectures and the powerpoints that outline his course. A student taking this class should be prepared to be proactive in their studying, making sure to read the lecture notes prior to the lecture for greater understanding of the material. They should also be prepared to come to Dr. Farooq or any of his Workshop leaders with questions regarding the material as they are always available to answer. Overall, if you give this class the appropriate study time it deserves, you will be able to achieve an A.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq makes this Biochemistry class significantly easier and more interesting than it could potentially be. You have to choose your questions wisely when asking, because he will be taking into account the fact that you already know the material that has been taught. He genuinely wants you to understand the material, and uses his enthusiasm for this field of science in order to do so. If you put in the effort, you will do well, guaranteed.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
While the course is challenging, Professor Farooq presents the material in a very efficient manner through his powerpoint slides. They are very comprehensive and withhold all the information necessary for you to thrive in the class. If that is not enough, Professor Farooq also goes a bit more into detail and explains his slides in class and is always ready and willing to take questions both during and after class. Don't be afraid to approach him with any questions or concerns as he always answers to the best of his ability and makes sure that your question is answered to the fullest extent. A great class overall!


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
Profesor Farooq makes an honest effort to make a hard class more digestable. Even if you have a hard time learning from him as a teacher you can always just use the awesome slides he makes. His online resorces are exelent and WILL have everything that may be on the test. He gives a fair amount of flexability by dropping quizes and allowing one re-take. Study hard and you will succeed.


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
Very rarely do you find courses so well structured and concise. Dr. Farooq's BMB 401 is one of those rare gems that allow you to thrive and show yourself what you are capable of. His lectures and slides are put well composed and leave no room for questions. What you put in, is what you get and it clearly reflects in your grade here. To anyone having to take Biochemistry, I highly recommend this class with Dr. Farooq. He knows what he's doing and enables you to be successful if you are willing to do your part.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★☆
When I first joined the class I was very cautious after hearing how hard the class was from previous students. Nevertheless, Dr. Farooq's powerpoints and lectures are extremely helpful and are all you need in order to pass the class. Also, although rude at times, he is always helpful and answers every question with great detail. He is a great professor. With the right amount of effort, passing the class with a good grade is completely possible.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-18 | ★★★★★
When I initially enrolled in this class, I was extremely apprehensive because of the rumors surrounding BMB 401 — how this was an extremely difficult class to pass, let alone get an A in, regardless of how much time and effort one put in. After a couple of weeks, though, I realized it is not nearly as bad as people make it out to be. Professor Farooq is extremely helpful in how he organizes his powerpoints and he is able to articulate huge sums of information in an easy-to understand-and-follow-along way. He also takes the time, in class, to fully explain more difficult concepts to be sure that we comprehend the nuances and little details that are actually very important in Biochemistry. And if that isn’t enough, Professor Farooq is extremely available most times (before/after class or via cell-phone call) to answer any other questions one may still have. I found this class to be overall an extremely positive learning experience and, if you plan on taking the MCAT, a great class to take in preparation. I’m shocked at how much information I learned. This class is only difficult if you don’t keep up with the material. If you take the time everyday to go over what we learned the day before and also read the upcoming powerpoint in preparation, you will do awesome!


A- Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-17 | ★★★★★
To be frank, I was a little discouraged when I initially enrolled in the course; however, after meeting Dr. Farooq on the first day of class I felt more at ease. He was very reassuring in that he was going to present the material in the clearest way possible and that he would be more than happy to help if we ever had any questions. The class was challenging. I worked very hard, not just because I wanted to do well but, because I genuinely wanted to learn the material. Dr. Farooq has given me a new found appreciation for Biochemistry. I am no longer intimidated but rather my interest has been peaked and I hope to learn more. Do yourself a favor and take a look at the "Publications" section. You are going to learn a lot of exciting things. I highly recommend taking this course with Dr. Farooq. You will not regret it!


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-17 | ★★★★★
This class was an incredible learning experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs to complete the BMB 401 course. Like most students, I was nervous entering the class and didn't know what to expect from it. I had heard that it was one of the more vigorous, intensive courses that you can take at UM, but after a few classes of adjusting to the class structure and Professor Farooq's teaching style, it became very manageable and easy to keep up with. Professor Farooq's class structure is remarkably organized and he provides help with whatever you need, whenever you need it. It was certainly a very difficult course and demanded intense study efforts, but above all else it was very fair and it challenged me to think critically in class, in the library, and during exams. I was very happy with the learning experience. Thank you professor Farooq!


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-17 | ★★★★★
When I first registered for biochemistry I was scared about what I was getting myself into. Contrary to popular belief Professor Farooq made the class fun and interesting each and every day. His slides are crystal clear and detailed with pictures. Being a visual learner, the slides put the words into perspective. In addition, Professor Farooq has a passion for the subject like nothing you will see from anyone else. He wants the best for each student and he will be there for you before and after class to answer any and all questions. By no means is this class easy, but with an adequate amount of work and effort into preparing for class each day and studying ahead for the tests, an A if very achievable.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-17 | ★★★★★
When I first registered for BMB401, I was nervous having heard about the professor's reputation. On the first day of class, I was able to see first hand the intensity and passion Dr. Farooq held for this biochemistry content. Throughout the Fall, my love for the science grew as well - largely in part of Dr. F's constant enthusiasm and logical lecturing approaches. In this class, every point matters; the quizzes should be taken seriously and the exams are challenging, yet doable. Overall, I learned more in BMB401 than I have in a lot of my cellular biology or chemistry courses combined, and would recommend this course to anyone looking to pursue a career in any field of science!


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-16 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq was able to make a very difficult class very manageable. Although it was a lot of work, his organization and enthusiasm were of immense help. His powerpoints were organized in such a way that the material flowed logically and where each lecture built upon the last. He was an excellent teacher and taught me how to understand the material rather than simply memorize it which is a skill that will undoubtable be very useful int he future. Thank you Dr. Farooq for a wonderful semester.


A Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-16 | ★★★★★
This class has been one of the most rewarding learning experiences at UM - it thoroughly prepares you for the Biochemistry portion of the MCAT. Professor Farooq clearly outlines the most important concepts learned throughout the semester, and maps those topics well in his lecture notes. Overall, I believe this class is truly beneficial for any pre-medical students that need to prepare themselves for the MCAT and medical school. Professor Farooq was always willing to answer any questions I had about the topics at hand, and was always accessible through email and by phone. The time and effort you put into this class is directly reflected in what you get out of it - the quizzes help you stay on track and learn the material as it is presented to you. I had a great experience this semester!


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-16 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq broke down the challenging concepts of biochemistry in a remarkably organized and elegant manner. His excellence in teaching sets a high standard for all professors of all disciplines. He does not sugarcoat the material. His classes are straightforward and to the point as he does not waste time with irrelevant information. In order to master the course, you must live and breathe the material every single day. You will not get an easy ‘A’, but if you dedicate the proper time and energy, you will be rewarded. Professor Farooq’s exams are fair, all the while ensuring that you will have an in-depth grasp of the material at hand. Looking back, Professor Farooq’s quizzes forced me to learn the material in little bites at a time and left me with no option to procrastinate. My advice to current and future students is to not let yourselves get intimidated by the material. Ask questions! During class, after class, or before class. I especially enjoyed the fact that Professor Farooq encouraged students to call him at any time when faced with any doubts. Overall, I am very grateful to have had Professor Farooq as my biochemistry professor. He really cares about his students and is passionate for what he does. I firmly believe that his course has equipped me with a solid foundation which will most certainly be put to good use on my journey as aspiring doctor. I give professor Farooq and his biochemistry course my highest recommendation to all of my peers.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-16 | ★★★★★
This was one of the most well-structured and informative classes that I have ever taken at any university. It was clear that Professor Farooq is an expert in the field of biochemistry, but also that he understands how to teach students and in what ways they learn best. This is a rigorous course and not one to be taken lightly. The key to doing well is to stay on track, attend classes, ask questions, and attend the workshops. If you do so, you can expect to do well in the course. To do exceptionally well, however, you must put in the additional time. It is possible to do! Professor Farooq ensures that he supplies all students with the necessary tools to succeed, but it is up to you to take advantage of them. I very much enjoyed this class and would recommend this course and professor to others.


A+ Student | FALL 2017 | 2017-12-15 | ★★★★★
Overall, I am very pleased that I had taken this class. Dr. Farooq has done an amazing job with constructing this course and its material in order to present students the necessary knowledge of biochem. Dr. Farooq is a great professor and a very nice man who tries his best to be present for his students. However, he can be a very unapproachable at some times, so he does need to work on his relationship with his students. Don't let this stop you for taking this class, though, as it is so informative and edifying. I would be a liar to say this course is not challenging, and students must work very hard to earn a good grade. This is a very demanding course, and you receive as much as you give. With that said, I would say that exam questions did not truly test comprehension but rather an interesting form of memorization. You must memorize and comprehend the material very well in order to master the exams. If you think that you have a good grasp on the material, and understand how certain processes overall, that's great, but you MUST know the nitty gritty details and SPELLINGS of words. Thus, when Dr. Farooq says, "Do not memorize," he means do not learn the material through memorization of words. You need to comprehend and then memorize everything. Don't be too afraid or daunted to take this course. After the first test, you will become aware of the way questions are asked, and you will do well as long as you work hard. As I said before, if I were to change anything, I would want better questions on the exam to truly test intelligence rather than which slide I memorized the best. I hope this helps!


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-12-15 | ★★★★★
I just want to say Professor Farooq is one of the best professors I ever had at the University of Miami. His slides are very clear and the textbook is not even necessary. Professor Farooq also has amazing enthusiasm for Biochemistry and makes the subject very engaging. He is extremely helpful and helps you approach Biochemistry in a logical manner rather just memorization. He is very helpful during workshop sessions and practice test sessions. He even goes above and beyond to allow students to call him when ever they need help understanding the information. He was also extremely nice to allow the students to retake one of their worst exams. Professor Farooq is such a blessing and I am extremely grateful that I took his class.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-12-15 | ★★★★★
Like all classes, you get what you put into it. A lot of times it is hard to know what you should study and what you shouldn't, but Dr. Farooq makes sure his slides are filled only with the most relevant information critical to having an understanding of Biochemistry. Dr. Farooq isn't so concerned about teaching extraneous information as he is about providing the foundations of understanding so that when you encounter anything new you may be able to tackle it correctly and efficiently. Biochemistry is dense so at the end of the day... Take your time.


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-12-15 | ★★★★★
This course might seem challenging but Professor Farooq does a great job of being as detailed as possible when it comes to lecturing and his powerpoints. He will answer all questions and all you need to succeed in his course is on his powerpoints. Studying before class is highly recommended in order to do well on the quizzes because he has to move quickly in order to cover all the material. Overall, the class was a joy and you will have learned biochemisty very well by the end of the course


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-12-15 | ★★★★★
I think Professor Farooq does a phenomenal job of conveying to his students what information is necessary and what is not. He says that the best way to learn is to think about things logically, which is so accurate and is truly the best way to retain information. Dr. Farooq is more than fair and gives students the opportunity to retake an exam because he understands that college is a busy time and sometimes you have an off day or week and need to redo a test. He is the only professor I've ever had to grant this opportunity to students and I am so grateful for his generosity. He also offered review sessions before every exam, and although many students opted not to go to these, I found them incredibly useful and took the opportunity to ask Dr. Farooq questions one-on-one. I highly recommend this class and truly think it was one of the best classes I've taken at UM.


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-12-12 | ★★★★★
I enjoyed this class very much, Dr. Farooq entertains all questions and makes himself available at all times over the phone. The exams test exactly the material taught in lecture and does not pull any punches. Although difficult BMB 401 is a class that every student can get an A in if they put in the work which is unique within the premed required classes.


A Student | SPRING 2016 | 2017-12-11 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq's BMB 401 class was extremely insightful. The the information load is heavy, but it is all necessary and it is provided to us in a very organized manner. His lectures are very informative and he answers questions with great detail and background. He was always willing to give help on puzzling topics before or after lecture and shows concern for the students he teaches. I enjoyed the class very much and find the knowledge that I gained from that class to be invaluable!


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-10-12 | ★★★★★
I had previously taken BMB401 with another professor but had to withdraw the class after the second exam due to really low scores. Thus I was very apprehensive taking the class again. However, I was extremely happy with my decision after attending the first week of lectures. The PowerPoint slides are so clearly and logically arranged that I understood the material much better this time around. I am currently using those same slides to study for the MCAT and the way Professor Farooq logically explains each topic during the lectures has definitely helped me understand biochemistry in a more comprehensive manner. Not only that, due to his enthusiasm towards the content and efficiency in the class structuring, I also enjoyed learning the material and had a great time trying to apply that knowledge onto the challenging questions offered in his exams. This class is geared towards helping you achieve your best score and provides you with all the resources you would ever need, you just have to put in the time and energy to get well- acquainted with the large amount of information and concepts.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-09-27 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq's powerpoint slides are very clear and concise, eliminating the need for a textbook. If you are pre-med, his lectures are very beneficial for the MCAT. His exams are very detailed so study hard. Plan on studying a week and a half before the exam.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-09-27 | ★★★★★
While I was apprehensive of taking Biochem going into the class, I rapidly learned that the material is taught very well and efficiently by Dr. Farooq. His slides are concise and clear and he presents the info very well. Dr. Farooq is also very accessible, both before and after class, in his office hours, and via phone, which I used multiple times when I had questions about the topics we covered. Personally, the information was very interesting and I enjoyed learning the inner workings of cells at such a deep level. Additionally, this class undoubtedly helped me for the MCAT. The Biochem and biology section was my strongest of all sections. I credit this to having taken biochemistry with Dr. Farooq.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-27 | ★★★★★
BMB is a difficult class, but not impossible . You will succeed only if you are willing to put in the time and energy that the material requires. Do not hesitate to ask questions. Professor Farooq is happy to answer questions. Not only can you make an appointment in office hours, but you can also reach him over the phone for explanations while you are studying. I found this to be very helpful because if I had any doubts about the material I could ask right away.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-26 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is notoriously known for being a difficult and challenging course amongst college students everywhere. However, Dr. Farooq has broken down and structured his course to present and teach the material in the most clear and concise way possible. Every one of his lectures reflects his passion for the material AND his students. He is very open to answering questions and will halt the lecture to explain the content if a student desires. After taking his course, I can confidently say I have not only learned the material but have also retained it.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-24 | ★★★☆☆
Pros- Powerpoints are excellent. Very clear and concise, and material outside this is not tested. Cons- Just memorizing them is required, no actual application of the concepts. Class is also very uninteresting, and Professor Farooq can be rude at times.


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-22 | ★★★★★
Very good professor! Comprehensive slides so no textbook is needed, and you learn to think about the subject in a logical way. Definitely challenging at times, but the quizzes and practice exams help. Professor Farooq is very helpful in his teaching and answering any questions along the way. 10/10!


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-22 | ★★★★☆
Professor Farooq's powerpoint were very detailed and structured in a greatly comprehendible manner. Biochemistry is a very difficult subject, but with diligence, time management, and conscientious effort, this course is achievable. The key to this course is class attendance, which allows you to gain a thorough understanding of the material.


A+ Student | SPRING 2016 | 2017-08-21 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry was a unique course in my time here at UM so far; it is the only course where the PowerPoint slides were fully representative of the material in a clear and concise manner, and the professor was able to answer all of our questions with clarity. Although the tests were not easy, they were reasonable given the material presented and the practice tests were very representative of the tests, giving students a clear picture of a path to success.


A Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-21 | ★★★★★
As someone on the premed track this course was one of my favorite at UM. It combines all the biology and chemistry you have been learning for the past 2 years into a fascinating class. The lectures are well organized and the notes provided online make them extremely easily to follow and use as notes for the exams. Also be sure to take the practice exams but don't rely on them too heavily for what the actual exams will look like.


C+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-16 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry it’s an exciting and interesting subject, and professor Farooq made it even more interesting. In the beginning I was scared because I knew it was going to be challenging, and sure it was, but professor Farooq was really successful at explaining and dissecting the material in the best possible way for students to comprehend. His passion for biochemistry is noticeable in every lecture he gives, and he really cares about teaching students to learn and understand the material rather than just memorizing it. His exams are very fair and straight forward, all you need to know for the test is in his power point lectures so you have to make sure you study ahead of time and put in the effort to be successful in the exams. Furthermore, it is very helpful and necessary to read the lectures ahead of time and prepare before class to be able to follow along with the class and do well on the quizzes. Although my final grade might not reflect the best grade, I can say that I truly learned a lot in this class, and professor Farooq was an excellent instructor that truly cares about his student’s success.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-16 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq was an awesome biochemistry professor! His notes were exceptional and prepared you well for the exams as well as the MCAT. His class is structured well, with end of class quizzes to test your knowledge which helps you to be better prepared for exams. You get your scores back immediately which is also cool! Overall, best biochemistry professor you could have!


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-16 | ★★★★★
I thought Dr. Farooq was a very good professor. His notes are very straight forward and concise, and they are the best tool to use to study for the class. Dr. Farooq goes over the notes in great detail during class. I believe the exams and quizzes are fair. Although they are challenging, all material tested is provided for in the notes. Overall, I had an awesome experience in this class and enjoyed the teaching style.


A+ Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-16 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq is an excellent teacher that challenges every student to be the best student they can be. By focusing his attention on important Biochemistry concepts that are important in the medical field, this class prepares you very well for the MCAT exam and can translate to other courses at Miami as well.


A Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-15 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is a difficult course. There is no doubt about that. However, Dr. Farooq does an EXCELLENT job of providing you with the materials that you need to succeed! If you want to do well, you need to put in the time! Dr. Farooq was very concise and specific about what he wanted you to know. It was a very fair class, to say the least. He is very knowledgeable about the subject and I urge future students to go up, introduce yourself, and ask questions whenever you need help. I would recommend this class to all students thinking of taking Biochem.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-14 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq is one of the best professors at the University of Miami! There was never a hesitation in class to pause the lecture to further explain a concept/topic before moving on! His notes were always helpful and arranged in a manner that was easy to comprehend! His class alone prepared me extremely well for the MCAT and when it came time to study the material in the biochemistry section, I was amazed at how much material I was able to recall and immediately understand as a result of taking Professor Farooq's course!


A+ Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-14 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq was by far one of the most amazing professors I have had here at UMiami. Although the class may seem difficult, he gives every student multiple opportunities to demonstrate their knowledge. By challenging yourself to succeed, you truly develop an understanding of biochemistry that is useful throughout college. I would definitely recommend this class to any one following the pre-health track, as well as those studying for the MCAT. Best of luck!


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-14 | ★★★★★
Though I was a little overwhelmed at first, this class proved to be, if not the best, one of the best classes I have taken at UM. Professor Farooq emphasized the need to understand the material rather than just simply memorize the details, and for the first time, I was able to see how doing so really pays off. I think the class is very fair in how it evaluates its students, and I believe it is set up in a way where your grade will truly reflect the effort and work you put in. I learned a lot from Professor Farooq, and would strongly recommend this class to anyone with a drive to do well.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-14 | ★★★★★
Biochemistry is a tough class, especially with all the material that is being covered in one semester only. Yet professor Farooq makes it easier in terms that all you need to know is very precise and clear on the slides. Professor Farooq makes sure to go over every single detail on the slides, which is extremely beneficial when studying for the MCAT for his way makes you remember the information, not only for the BMB exams, but later when taking the MCAT. The grading system is very fair and students have multiple opportunities to boost their grade and get the grade they deserve.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-12 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq is by far one of the fairest professors at the University of Miami. Although his class may seem difficult as the material is very dense, he gives every student multiple opportunities to demonstrate their knowledge. Not only does learning this material help you succeed in the course, but also prepares you for a more further understanding of the material, thereby allowing mastery while studying for the MCAT, DAT, and other qualifying exams to further education.


A+ Student | SPRING 2016 | 2017-08-12 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq's Biochemistry class gave a great overview of the course. I found it incredibly helpful and the way in which it was taught allowed me to retain the information well after the course. I found it to be a great intro to the course before studying for the MCAT as well. I would highly recommend his class to others.


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-11 | ★★★★★
Dr.Farooq teaches one a comprehensive overview of biochemistry. He was able to provide me a background great for research purposes as well as preparing me for tests such as the MCAT. Would highly recommend to any student looking to fully understand the materials if willing to study diligently!


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-11 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq's class will prepare you well for any further courses or research in the field of Biochemistry. He is extremely detailed in his slides and lectures and structures his class in a way that forces the student to stay on top of the material, maximizing their learning experience. He goes to great lengths to ensure that every student succeeds in his class if they put in the effort.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-11 | ★★★★★
You learn a lot of really important things in this class. Taking this class before I studied for the MCAT was incredibly helpful, it made all the biochemistry material on the exam a breeze. Tests and quizzes are fair, you just have to put in the work, and you can definitely get the grade you want.


A Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-11 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq is a fantastic teacher. Thoroughly enjoyed attending his classes. Because of the end-of-class 10- question assessments I can truly say that I learned something new each and every day. I would recommend Dr. Farooq to anyone. Ps: For all premed students out there, a strong understanding in biochemistry is critical for doing well in future STEM oriented courses, the MCAT exam, and the career of your choosing. Dr. Farooq strives to maximize your understanding of biochemistry. Overall, great class...great professor.


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-11 | ★★★★★
Honestly one of the best professors I've had here. The course material obviously isn't easy but he explains complex ideas very well and has amazing slides to go with them. Every class he would stay after and answer any personal questions or concerns students had. Professor Farooq is an incredibly friendly and genuinely cares about this subject and his students. The format of the class was helpful as well. His quizzes weren't fun for sure, but they definitely kept everyone on track and helped a lot come test time. The info is very relevant on the MCAT, too. His tests are challenging, but if you study you will do well in the class and everything you need to know is on the slides already. Good luck!


A- Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-11 | ★★★★★
Dr. Farooq was a very dedicated and diligent professor. He cared about students doing well in his class and always gave opportunities to bring up our grades. He vas very helpful and knowledgeable about the subject and I believe that he is the best qualified person to teach this course!


A- Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-10 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq makes the concepts of biochemistry easy to understand. The key to succeeding is going to class and dedicating time to reading his slides. Everything that he expects you to know are in his slides. His slide notes are valuable for not only his test, but as well for studying for the MCAT. I will always be grateful that I had professor Farooq as my biochemistry teacher.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-10 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq was an excellent teacher. I found that there was no need to refer to a textbook because his slides and lecture were very concise and comprehensible. His examinations are fair and the quizzes at the end of the lecture offer an excellent means to test your understanding of the material and determine how much you should prepare. You won't find another professor that puts in as much time for his students. For instance, he tries to learn all his students names and puts in the effort to establish relationships with his student. He will always make time to answer questions before or after lecture. It is very evident how much he wants his students to learn biochemistry and I encourage any prospective students to take his class.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-10 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq was one of the most dedicated and hardworking professors I've had. His dedication to delivering quality lectures, addressing student's questions, and creating holistic intellectual lessons is reflected in each of his classes. Professor Farooq has high expectations for himself and all of his students, which leads to a respectful, and responsible environment. Dr. Farooq will always help students that are struggling and looks for innovative, new, and effective ways to advance the classroom. I would give interested students my highest mark of recommendation to take his class.


A+ Student | SPRING 2017 | 2017-08-10 | ★★★★☆
His powerpoints were very clear and going to class really helped me understand the material presented. I felt as though I learned a lot from this class.


A+ Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-10 | ★★★★★
I learned more from Biochem 401 than any other class I have taken at UM, thanks to Professor Farooq! Everything that is expected of students is outlined very clearly at the beginning of the semester. Furthermore, the slides Professor Farooq created for the class are one of the most valuable tools any student could have, I still use them to study for the MCAT and as help in understanding academic journals! Put in the work and you will receive an excellent grade and a wealth of knowledge.


A+ Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-10 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq's lectures clearly indicate exactly what you need to know. His power points are efficient and help you prepare for not only the in-class tests but are also a useful tool for studying for the MCAT if you're on the pre- med track. The tests are fair and straightforward but you do need to put in time to study and clearly understand the material. Overall, a very fair class with expectations clearly outlined at the beginning.


A+ Student | FALL 2016 | 2017-08-10 | ★★★★★
Professor Farooq is one of the most prepared, dedicated and intelligent professors at UM. His notes that he provides are the keys to success in the course. It is rare that professors give their students absolutely everything they need to succeed in their course and he does exactly that. The time, work and effort put into BMB 401 is exactly what you get out of it. Professor Farooq is also extremely fair and easily reachable. I am very happy to have had the experience to take this challenging yet rewardable class with Professor Farooq and I will use the information I learned for the rest of my academic career.